Knossos flourished for approximately two thousand years. It had large palace buildings, extensive workshop installations and luxurious rock-cut cave and tholos tombs. As a major centre of trade and the economy, Knossos maintained ties with the majority of cities in the Eastern Mediterranean.
The most important monuments of the site are:
The Great Palace
It is the largest of the preserved Minoan palatial centres. Four wings are arranged around a central courtyard, containing the royal quarters, workshops, shrines, storerooms, repositories, the throne room and banquet halls. Dated to 2000-1350 B.C.
The Little Palace
It is the second bigger building of Knossos. In one of its chambers was found the wonderful Bull’s Head made of steatite, which is exhibited in the Archaeological Museum of Heraklion.
The Royal Villa
It is considered part of the Great Palace. A magnificent jar was found here, with papyrus in relief.
The House of the High Priest
This building is considered to be the House of the High Priest due to the stone altar that was found there.
The Caravan Serai
It was the official entrance to the palace. It served as public baths with running water, where the traveller or visitor of Knossos should bath before visiting the King.
The Royal Temble Tomb-Sanctuary
It is considered to have belonged to one of the Last Minoan Kings.
The numerous finds from the palace, all of exceptionally high quality art, pottery, vessels, figurines, the archive of Linear B tablets, and the original wall-paintings, are all housed in Herakleion Archeological Museum.